Menu Close
Different Stages of Math Olympiad Exam

Different Stages of Math Olympiad Exam

Table of Contents

Stages of Math Olympiad Exam: Math Olympiads are held at several grade levels and provide students with numerous opportunities to receive endorsements, prizes, and even scholarships. The International Math Olympiad is a popular math olympiad that promotes critical thinking, reasoning, and problem-solving skills. Members from over 100 countries take part in these tests regularly.

These are the most important things to know about the Math Olympiad.

Outline of Math Olympiad
The Math Olympiad is a competitive exam that measures students’ numerical skills. The essential target of this exam is to impart a competitive outlook to students. Unlike school exams, olympiad exams are planned to uncover the genuine significance of math learning. It gives a more extensive perspective on several related points and their reasonable applications. Students who tackle issues shrewdly with the acquired information on math naturally become certain issue solvers.

The primary Math Olympiad was held in Romania in the year 1959. At first, the challenge was planned exclusively for the Eastern Bloc nations yet, later on, it extended to additional nations. The opposition is coordinated yearly and each time in an alternate country. There are six applicants taking part in the IMO from every country. Each nation has a different association that chooses and executes the determination interaction.

In India National Board for Higher Mathematics (NBHM) is then responsible for the international numerical olympiad movement. The choice interaction is executed by the Homi Bhabha Center for Science Education (HBCSE) for the benefit of NBHM. There are four phases of the IMO choice cycle in India.

Stage 1 is the Pre-Regional Mathematical Olympiad (PRMO). PRMO exam is led at the school level. The exam term is over two hours and students need to solve 30 questions.

Stage 2  is the Regional Mathematical Olympiad (RMO). The students shortlisted in stage 1, are qualified to partake in the RMO. The span of the Regional Math Olympiad (RMO) exam is three hours and students need to take care of six questions. Winners of this level are qualified for stage 3.

Stage 3 is the Indian National Mathematical Olympiad (INMO) is conducted on the national level and champions are chosen for stage 4.

Stage 4 is the International Mathematical Olympiad Training Camp (IMOTC). This camp is held at Homi Bhabha Center for Science Education (HBCSE) from April to May. This camp is coordinated to give direction to students by asset people from different establishments the nation over. There are a few determination tests held all through the camp and because of the exhibition of students in these tests, 6 members are picked to address India at the International Math Olympiad.

The Math Olympiad aims to improve the numerical and competitive abilities of students. This allows them to discover their strengths and potential. Students who participate in Math Olympiad gain the confidence they need to handle tricky situations. This gives them an edge over their friends. Prizes and acknowledgment acquired through the exam are profoundly beneficial in academics and career.

Get your child to crack the olympiad with BeyondSkool’s Olympiad test prep-The Gold Standard for Olympiad Preparation. Book a free demo today

Also read: How to qualify for Math Olympiad?

Share :

Subscribe Our Newsletter

Subscribe to our blog newsletter for latest updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.